Bellatrix: Stars and Bamboo

Urdhva Mukha Svanasana from the Bellatrix Laceweight Series

Here’s another sneak peek of some of the loveliness to come from veganyarn.com when it launches. This is one of the yarns from a test batch, when I ordered a load of base yarns to try out to see what I’d like to work with. This one is a 100% bamboo laceweight (5/2) so its a bit heavier than my organic cotton lace which is 10/2. It’ll come in 100g skeins in whooping butt colours like this one. When I went to photograph this yarn, the colours were so intense and the gloss so high that some of the photos were flaring! I had to use lower light so as not to have that problem. Mmm. Good problem. As you can see this base yarn passes the test.

After much consideration, I’ve decided to name my yarn lines after stars and star clusters, and perhaps fibre after deep sky objects? (Nebulae etc) As an amateur astronomy buff this was a fun decision. I still remember being in high school and being a super nerd helping my science teacher with the astronomy section of the course, knowing dozens of nebulae by their common name AND Messier number. I stayed up late to go stargazing with my schedule of ISS passes and Iridium flares (back when the ISS was the NISS, as in New International Space Station). Oh yeah, I was one of those kids. Also, in those days I would go to the home-ec department to join my teacher and a few other crafty peers for knitting over the lunch break.

Since having my son I have had to set stargazing aside for a while, but I tell you, now that he’s getting to be old enough for it, this summer, we’ll be pulling a few late nighters at the dark sky park, a low-light area for the purpose of stargazing courtesy of the Royal Astronomical Society, and maybe a few visits to the UBC observatory.

At this point I’m planning on starting with about 12 colours of each base yarn. If there’s a colourway you’re itching for, let me know and I’ll be sure to add it to my list…

Leave a Reply

